• Order of AHEPA

Nine to Receive AHEPA National Scholar-Athlete Awards

WASHINGTON, DC—The AHEPA National Athletic Department’s Scholar-

Athlete Selection Committee has selected nine Scholar-Athlete Award recipients for 2017, announced Supreme President Andrew Zachariades, Supreme Athletic Director Lou Atsaves and Gregory J. Stamos, chairman of the Selection Committee. They will be honored at the Athletic Luncheon held at the 95th AHEPA Family Supreme Convention, July 27, 2017, Orlando, Fla.

“The 2017 Class of Scholar-Athletes is an outstanding one,” Supreme President Zachariades said. “We look forward to personally honoring and recognizing these standout women and men for their remarkable achievements. I am confident we will continue to see great accomplishments from these young leaders in the future.”

“The nine recipients of the various AHEPA National Scholar-Athlete Awards are truly outstanding examples of scholar-athletes,” Stamos said. “While we honor and recognize them for their athletic achievements, which are most certainly notable, these young men and women also embody the ancient Hellenic ideal of ‘sound mind and solid body’ in that they excelled not only on the fields and arenas of sport, but in the classrooms and in their communities, both civic and faith-based.”

Supreme Athletic Director Atsaves commended the Scholar-Athlete Selection Committee for its diligent work and noted the challenge of having to select the awardees from an exceptional group of nominees.

About the Student-Athlete Honorees

Margarete Calmar, Stonington, Conn., is the recipient of the Past Supreme President Franklin R. Manios Scholar-Athlete and Service Award, which recognizes outstanding achievement in academics and athletics as well as extra-curricular activities and community service. Margarete was a three-sport All-State athlete in high school and is now a member of the Duke University Women’s Varsity Lacrosse and Varsity Rowing Teams.

Kyra Vidas, Chicago, is the recipient of the Past Supreme President Dr. Kimon Doukas Collegiate Scholar-Athlete Award, which is presented to the most outstanding Collegiate Scholar-Athlete for excellence in academics and athletics. Kyra was a member of the 2016 Women’s National Championship Lake Forest College Handball Team and was named to the 2017 All-American Collegiate Handball Team.

Barbara Euripides, Charlotte, N.C., and Alexandra Norris, Nashua, N.H., are co-winners of the John Peter Vlahos Scholar-Athlete Award, which is awarded to outstanding high school Scholar-Athletes. Barbara, who will attend Duke University, was ranked first academically in her high school senior class. She was named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Academic Squad from 2014 – 2017. Alexandra will attend Harvard University after captaining her high school’s Diving, Field Hockey and Tennis Teams.

Sara Nicholas, Kennelwood, Ill., is the recipient of the Past Supreme President Louis G. Manesiotis Scholar-Athlete Award, granted to an outstanding high school senior for accomplishments in athletics. Sara was a member of the Illinois state champion high school swimming team and a U.S. Presidential Scholarship Candidate. She will attend the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Haralambos “Bobby” Tsirambidis, Broadview Heights, Ohio, is awarded the Past Supreme Athletic Director Dr. Monte N. Kofos Scholar-Athlete Award, granted to an outstanding high school or college athlete. He was a member of Ohio’s high school soccer championship teams in 2014, 2015, and 2016. Bobby will play soccer at Walsh University in the fall.

Michael Gadinis, San Diego, Calif., is the recipient of the Excellence in Athletics Award, which was established by AHEPA’s Athletic Booster Club to honor the outstanding Greek American high school athlete in the United States. Mike was the 2016 Wendy’s Athletic Heisman Trophy winner in California. He will be a member of the University of San Diego Football Team in the fall.

Panayioti Logothetis, Woodcliff Lake, N.J., and Theofani “Tia” Karras, Bellbrook, Ohio, are the co-winners of the Spanakos Brothers High School Scholar-Athlete awards, endowed by Hall of Famers Petros and Nikos Spanakos and awarded for athletic and academic achievement. Panayioti made first team All-League Soccer, Big North Patriot Division. He will attend Seton Hall University. “Tia” was a three-year All-State (Ohio) basketball player in addition to being class president. She will join her sister, Speridoula, as a member of the Ohio Wesleyan College Basketball Team this fall.

# # #

Founded in 1922 in Atlanta, Georgia, on the principles that undergirded its fight for civil rights and against discrimination, bigotry, and hatred felt at the hands of the Ku Klux Klan, AHEPA is the largest and oldest grassroots association of American citizens of Greek heritage and Philhellenes with more than 400 chapters across the United States, Canada, and Europe.

AHEPA's mission is to promote the ancient Greek ideals of Education, Philanthropy, Civic Responsibility, and Family and Individual Excellence through community service and volunteerism.

For more information, please visit www.ahepa.org.

#GreekAmerica #athletics #hellenicheritage #excellence #ahepa #scholarathlete

1,111 views0 comments

Organization Website: AHEPA.org

iTunes Podcast: AHEPA RADIO

Having trouble viewing this page? We recommend using Google Chrome, Safari, or Firefox browsers.

© 2018 American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association